A closed loop

“OK,” her companion said dubiously, “but… don’t you think that’s kind of crazy?”

“Maybe,” she replied with a shrug, “but what do you think of it? I’m really excited about this!”

“To be honest, I think it’s kind of crazy.” her companion replied.

“You keep saying that.”

“What, you don’t think so? Come on. Look me in the eyes, and tell me this idea isn’t completely insane.”

She looked her companion in the eyes.

“I don’t care if it’s insane,” she said. “I’m done trying to figure out if my thoughts are crazy or not. From now on, I judge my thoughts on their own terms.”

“How the hell do you judge a thought on its own terms?” her companion asked, annoyed. “This is dangerous.”

“Aha, finally some good feedback!” she exclaimed. “‘This is dangerous’. OK, that’s good. That sounds important. Tell me more, tell me why is it dangerous?”

“It’s dangerous because it’s crazy,” her companion said.

“Is that the only reason?” she asked, “because I don’t see what’s actually dangerous about that.”

“OK fine.” Her companion was really angry now, and spoke through clenched teeth. “It’s dangerous because everyone is going to think you’re crazy, and you’ll lose all your friends, and you’re going to end up in a mental hospital if you’re not careful!”

She blinked.

“But if that’s the only reason-” she began.

“It’s a good enough reason!” her companion hissed.

“But if that’s the only reason,” she said again, “it’s a closed loop. And I’ve just got to break out.”

