Cauterise it

Practise feeling good about yourself.

When a vinyl rope is cut, you should hold a flame to the cut ends until they melt solid. Otherwise the frayed strands will unwind and unwind and unwind until there is no rope left.

If you feel bad, tell yourself: “I am a good person who feels bad just now.”

If you feel bad about yourself, tell yourself: “I am a good person who feels bad about herself,” and offer yourself sympathy.

If you are cold, tell yourself: “I am a good person, and I’m cold.”

If you are feeling tired and stiff, tell yourself: “I am a good person, who feels tired and stiff.”

If you feel miserable and worthless, tell yourself: “I am a good person who feels miserable and worthless, as many good people do at times.”

If you have been trying all day to get a thing done and have accomplished nothing, tell yourself: “I am a good person, even though I haven’t managed to get this thing done.”

If you are ashamed of the awful thing you did, tell yourself that you are a good person who screwed up and did a bad thing.

Cauterise it. You can’t stop it, but you can stop it from spiralling out of control.