Prufrock

A comic.  Character 1 is: a cute cartoon creature. Character 2 is: a cute cartoon creature.  Character 1: *Sigh.* Character 2: Oh hi there Prufrock. Say, you look a little depressed, is anything the matter? Character 1: Oh... no, nothing is the matter. Not really. Character 2: Oh, good, glad to hear it. Character 1: It's just...I keep asking myself, do I dare? Do I dare disturb the universe? Character 2: Um... Character 1: In the room the women come and go, talking of Michealangelo. Character 2: Oh, Michealangelo. He was one of the great painters of the European Renaissance, best known for his painting 'The Creation of Adam on the Sistine Chapel ceiling. Character 1: You don't understand. I have known them all already, known them all. Afternoons measured out with coffeespoons. The voices from a farther room... and how should I presume? Character 2: Oooooooooo-kay. Character 1: Do I dare? With a bald spot in the middle of my hair. My morning coat, my collar mounting firmly to the My necktie rich and modest, but asserted by a simple pin- (They will say: "But how his arms and legs are thin!") Character 2: Right. OK, listen, your problem is that you long for authentic self-expression but you fear the vulnerability that goes with it. Character 1: Oh! Um... Character 2: You're terrified of rejection, but rejection is a natural part of being on the dating scene. And you're terrified of being laughed at. Character 1: Well I suppose I...But... Character 2: Listen, the world is full of haters, and the only way to avoid being laughed at is to never to anything at all. You need to toughen up. Learn to give yourself the love and respect you crave instead of looking for scraps of affirmation from others.

(In the third from last panel I left out the word “chin”, so if you mentally re-insert that it will sound much better :)

‘The Love Song of Alfred J. Prufrock’ by TS Eliot

