A comic. The scene: a pleasant countryside landscape. Character 1 is: A tall cartoon stick figure. Character 2 is: A short cartoon stick figure. Character 1: I know learning about how I have Privilege is really important and all, but I have to admit I find it really depressing sometimes. Character 2: Not me. Character 1: But you're a white, cisgendered heterosexual from a middle-class background - doesn't thinking about how you have all that privilege get you down sometimes? Character 2: It used to. But then I realised why thinking about my privilege upset me: it made me think that maybe my accomplishments are the result of my privilege and not simply the result of my awesomeness. Character 1: So thinking about your privilege made you fear that you might not be so awesome after all? Character 2: Exactly. Character 1: But in time you came to terms with your own mediocrity? Character 2: God, no! I realised that this culture rewards privilege above merit. My accomplishments are mostly because of my privilege, and the fact that I happen to be AMAZING and SUPER-AWESOME is incidental! Character 1: Well it's nice to see that your self-esteem is fully intact. Character 2: The trick is to realize that my own awesomeness does not depend on me refusing to acknowledge someone else's. CREDITS: Background: A Paisaje Boceto by rg1024 openclipart.org/user-detail/rg1024 Public domain. Left character: Cartoon figure by anarres Public domain. Right character: Cartoon figure by anarres Public domain. Mashed-up at foofurple.com/comic/

Privilege

A comic. The scene: a pleasant countryside landscape. Character 1 is: A tall cartoon stick figure. Character 2 is: A short cartoon stick figure.  Character 1: I know learning about how I have Privilege is really important and all, but I have to admit I find it really depressing sometimes. Character 2: Not me. Character 1: But you're a white, cisgendered heterosexual from a middle-class background - doesn't thinking about how you have all that privilege get you down sometimes? Character 2: It used to. But then I realised why thinking about my privilege upset me: it made me think that maybe my accomplishments are the result of my privilege and not simply the result of my awesomeness.  Character 1: So thinking about your privilege made you fear that you might not be so awesome after all? Character 2: Exactly. Character 1: But in time you came to terms with your own mediocrity? Character 2: God, no! I realised that this culture rewards privilege above merit. My accomplishments are mostly because of my privilege, and the fact that I happen to be AMAZING and SUPER-AWESOME is incidental! Character 1: Well it's nice to see that your self-esteem is fully intact. Character 2: The trick is to realize that my own awesomeness does not depend on me refusing to acknowledge someone else's. CREDITS: Background: A Paisaje Boceto by rg1024 openclipart.org/user-detail/rg1024 Public domain.  Left character: Cartoon figure by anarres Public domain.  Right character: Cartoon figure by anarres Public domain. Mashed-up at foofurple.com/comic/

