A comic. The scene: a starry night. Character 1 is: a simple cartoon person. Character 2 is: a simple cartoon person. Character 1: Sociologists believe that reality doesn't have any existence iindependent of human brains. We have to "construct" reality by thinking it and talking about it, to bring it into being. Character 2: What a terrifying idea! My brain has trouble remembering where I left my shoes, I can't imagine it being responsible for maintaining the structure of reality! Character 1: They're on your feet. Character 2: Oh hey, excellent! Character 1: But if the sociologists are right, what does that mean for people who are mentally ill? It isn't just "all in your head" - it's the entire structure of reality that falls apart. I wonder how that must feel? Character 2: Terrifying and unbearably lonely, I'd imagine. Not that I'd know anything about that.

Construction

A comic. The scene: a starry night. Character 1 is: a simple cartoon person. Character 2 is: a simple cartoon person.  Character 1: Sociologists believe that reality doesn't have any existence iindependent of human brains. We have to "construct" reality by thinking it and talking about it, to bring it into being. Character 2: What a terrifying idea! My brain has trouble remembering where I left my shoes, I can't imagine it being responsible for maintaining the structure of reality! Character 1: They're on your feet. Character 2: Oh hey, excellent! Character 1: But if the sociologists are right, what does that mean for people who are mentally ill? It isn't just "all in your head" - it's the entire structure of reality that falls apart. I wonder how that must feel? Character 2: Terrifying and unbearably lonely, I'd imagine. Not that I'd know anything about that.

