A comic in the style of a comic book cover. The title is "True Confessions of a Networked Appliance". The cover image shows a washing machine, with two spotlights pointed at it, against a dark background. Above the washing machine is the following text, in a bright green monospace font: > I... I never wanted this. I never thought this could happen. > They said I needed full access to the network, but it was a lie. I mostly just needed to be programmable, to be operated by remote control, and maybe to send my owners a text message or an email when when my soap ran low. the soap ran low. > I never wanted to do deep packet inspection. I never wanted to send data back to the manufacturer. I never wanted to be a spy. > I... I'm just a washing machine.

Confessions of a networked appliance

A comic in the style of a comic book cover. The title is "True Confessions of a Networked Appliance". The cover image shows a washing machine, with two spotlights pointed at it, against a dark background. Above the washing machine is the following text, in a bright green monospace font:   > I... I never wanted this. I never thought this could happen.  > They said I needed full access to the network, but it was a lie. I mostly just needed to be programmable, to be operated by remote control, and maybe to send my owners a text message or an email when when my soap ran low. the soap ran low.  > I never wanted to do deep packet inspection. I never wanted to  send data back to the manufacturer. I never wanted to be a spy.   > I... I'm just a washing machine.

